Star Trek: Tirpitz


Supplemental: My Monsters
April 25, 2010, 9:43 am
Filed under: Supplemental

Out of Character

A few days ago, three different members of the STO fleet I’ve joined (EDIT:  Make that four.  I’m sorry I missed that one) took a look at the various different characters they’ve played in the many MMOs they’ve tried over the years.  I thought they were very interesting reads.  They provided a unique insight into the choices a player makes when they’re creating and playing a character.  I felt inspired to take a look at my own history in MMOs. 

I thought I’d start by listing what I remember. 

  • Everquest:  Level 5 Troll warrior on a PVE server
  • World of Warcraft: Level 40 Male Orc Hunter on a PVP server.  Level 30 Male Orc Hunter on a PVP server.  Level 30 Male Troll Priest on a PVP server.  Level 80 Male Orc Warrior on a PVP server.  Level 80 Male Blood Elf Death Knight on a PVP server.  Level 28 Female Human priest on a PVP server.
  • City of Heroes:  Male Blaster, Male Tanker, Male Scrapper all under Level 20 on a forgotten server.
  • EVE Online:  1 ship, under level 10.
  • Age of Conan:  Male Cimmerian Conqueror on a PVP server.  Male Cimmerian Ranger on a PVP server.  Male Stygian Necromancer on a PVP server.  All under Level 30.
  • Warhammer Online:  Black Orc on a PVP server.  Male Magus on a PVP server.  Male White Lion on a PVP server.  Ironbreaker on a PVP server.  All under Level 20
  • Champions Online:  Male Might, Male Darkness, Male Melee-Claws.  All under Level 20
  • Star Trek Online: Male Joined Trill, Tactical career, Commander Level.

So what have I noticed about who, what, and how I play? 

  1. They’re about 99% male.  Of that 1% of females that I’ve played, they’ve all been alts that haven’t even gotten to the half way point of leveling.  If I had to say why that is, I think I would have to narrow it down to two main reasons.  The first of which comes from my days of playing pen and paper RPGs back in high school.  On the few occasions when I played a female PC (or had a Female NPC that was heavily featured in a game I was running), the comments I received were less than stellar.  The most common joke made at my female character’s expense was something along the lines of “it’s like every day of the year is that time of the month for her”.  The only other reason I can think of the amount of trouble I could get into with one.  The argument of “looking at a pretty backside” may be used by many a guy that plays a female character, and I can sorta see where they’re coming from with it.  But it’s not an argument that’s going to let you keep that female character when your girlfriend asks why you’re playing a warrior decked out in a chain mail bikini.
  2. I am a name recycler, but only if I’m really serious about the game.  In games where I’ve had friends ask me to join them and give it a try, I’ve been content to just click the random name button until I saw something I liked.  If it’s a game I’m really interested in playing and I think I’m going to spend a lot of time with one character, some version of Ruz (or Russ in settings without a sci-fi or fantasy element) will be used.
  3. The story’s the thing.  When I make a character, I tend to at least have a small hook of an idea of what I want that character to be.  Sometimes I’ve had more.  My main in WoW started off as “the guy that wants to be on the front line of the fight” and developed into “the grumpy old warrior surrounded by green recruits”.  For Star Trek Online, I started thinking about what I wanted him to be as soon as I pre-ordered the version that would give me access to the Joined Trill race.  Sometimes an inability to successfully mesh my story for the character with the limits of the game spell the end of my time with the game.  In City of heroes, I wanted to build a scrapper with the claws power set.  I wanted a clawed hand, and spent the time to find it in the character builder and get everything just like I wanted.  Then I took it into the game, and the first time he tried to attack a bad guy, he balled up his clawed hands into fists and three blades shot out of the back of his wrists.  It’s hard not to be a Wolverine clone when you’re forced into being one.  And shortly there after, I ended my subscription.
  4. The monster redeemed.  I didn’t really notice this until I remembered what I had done in Champions online: 

    That's your hero?

I started with the giant shark man; a captured villain forced by the government to turn hero.  I followed him up with the college student who gave up dabbling in the dark arts when it turned him into a spike covered demon and then moved on to the dirty bio weapons expert that was exposed to a nasty virus that turned him into a zombie with the power to heal people.  I seem to like creating “bad guys” that aren’t quite so bad.  It would explain why I have so many Orcs in WoW.  They’ve come back from being slaves to demons and blood thirsty savages (until Blizzard threw them under the bus known as Garrosh Hellscream).  I think the only way I’m ever going to get an Alliance character to 80 is when I have the chance to roll a Worgen Death Knight once Cataclysm comes out.  And just like with #3 on this list, it can be a deal breaker.  Warhammer Online is very black and white in regards to good and evil.  There aren’t any repentant Chaos soldiers.  What does this mean for Star Trek Online?  Probably nothing for my Federation Captain.  But if I ever roll a Klingon faction character, I’d expect a pirate or smuggler that’s trying to make good in some way.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Awesome man. I liked the writeup a lot. Your take on redeeming bad guys is one I’ve never thought of.

Comment by Amuntoth

That’s a fantastic write up, I too immediately noticed your preference for playing orcs when I started going down your list of characters.

A few of us in FNS were talking about The Old Republic in fleet chat after our deep space encounter on Friday, about the interesting idea of alignment they have for that game. Your take on “redemption of the bad guy” really made me put in perspective my choice to play as a light-sided or grey bounty hunter.

Comment by mmogamerchick

I haven’t been following Old Republic because of the era it’s set in, so I don’t know much about the alignment system. Are there good bounty hunters, or would it be all in how you played one?

Comment by captainruz

How you played one, I’m guessing. Bioware has said you can make the decisions you want in the game which will have consequences. Basically, “good” decisions = light side, “evil” decisions = dark side. It wouldn’t matter which faction you’re on, so you can technically be a “dark” jedi on the republic or a “light” sith on the sith empire side. If it truly works that way, I think that’s the closest to redemption one can get.

Comment by mmogamerchick

Great write-up. I’ve never had to deal with GF- or wife-agg for my lovely ladies, because I was divorced before starting WoW. And serious girlfriends I’ve had since have played with me. Also, I never played table-top games, so don’t have the background you have with role playing.

Comment by rowan

With each passing year, it seems like that part of my argument becomes less and less likely to happen. Still, better safe than sorry I suppose.

Comment by captainruz




Leave a Reply

